SlideshowFx Picasa Widget for Joomla!
Copyright © 2010



The WCU would value  

your financial support.

You can specify where

the donation goes.

Please make a donation to the WCU

Amount: GBP


follow us on twitter





2014 Welsh Championships

For live games follow these links


We warmly congratulate Tim Kett - 2014 WELSH CHAMPION. Tim completed the seven rounds of the Championship scoring 6.5 points.


We also congratulate

Olivia Smith (Welsh Ladies Champion)

Alex Bullen (Welsh Under 21 Champion)

Steven Jones and Daniel Pousada Garcia (Open / Major winners)

Paul Bridges and David Tomboline (Winners of the Tom Weston Memorial Trophy)

Steve Williams (Minor Winner and winner of John Bishop Memorial Trophy)


Full results can be found in the cross tables below


CHAMPIONSHIP        Cross Table     Round 1     Round 2     Round 3     Round 4     Round 5     Round 6      Round 7 

OPEN MAJOR             Cross Table     Round 1     Round 2     Round 3     Round 4     Round 5     Round 6     Round 7

MINOR                      Cross Table      Round 1     Round 2     Round 3     Round 4     Round 5     Round 6     Round 7


All Games from the Championship are now available for download in the games section of the website.  

All games from the Tom Weston Major Open are also available for download in the games section. 

Games from boards 1 to 4 in the John Bishop Minor can also be downloaded from the games section.

(Corrections to game files made at 17:15 on 23/4/14)


WCU Knock Out Cup: 2013-14: Updated 7.4.14

OPEN            UNDER 1800 CUP              UNDER 1800 PLATE          UNDER 1500                          


These competitions are now reaching their conclusions. Draws for semi-finals are below:

Read more: WCU Knock Out Cup: 2013-14: Updated 7.4.14

Welsh Premier League 2013-14

Following today's matches at Pencoed three teams could still be crowned WCPL Champions 2014 on May 11th..........Cardiff, Nidum or The Vale.

Read more: Welsh Premier League 2013-14

Francis Rayner wins Geof Tyrrell Best Game Prize 2013

In this the fourth year of the competition in memory of Geof, the judges (Stuart Hutchings, Dave James and Howard Williams) identified 24 games (six up on 2012) which met our basic criteria, in short  wins or draws by Welsh players against foreign opposition rated both 2250 or over and 150 points or more above the Welsh player.  These consisted of four wins and 20 draws, all hard-fought. 

Read more: Francis Rayner wins Geof Tyrrell Best Game Prize 2013  

Welsh Champion



... 1 years to go !             


Welsh Ladies