The WCU would value  

your financial support.

You can specify where

the donation goes.

Please make a donation to the WCU

Amount: GBP

 Want to invite welsh juniors  

 to your event ?


       Wholesale Chess
School/tournament equipment




officialstaunton 2
       Top of the range sets


Glorney Gilbert International 2015

This year, the Glorney Gilbert International was held in Enfield, Ireland, from 19-23 July. The results were:

  • Fourth in Glorney (under 18s), for the team of Nicholas Evans, Ben Thomas, Kristian Prosser and James Baker
  • Third in the Gilbert (girls), for the team of Imogen Camp, Megan Richards and Shayana Sivarajasingam
  • Third in the Robinson (under 14s), for the team of Ben Choo-Yin, James Evans, Hugo Fowler, Karanvir Lutchman-Singh, Jake Williams and Joshua Williams
  • Second (missing out by just half a point to the English) in the Stokes (under 12s), for the team of Venetia Sivarajasingam, Aishwarya Lutchman-Singh, Ifan Rathbone-Jones, Anlan Qui, Caspian Fowler and Susanna Fraser

Welsh Juniors excel at 2015 northern giga-final

Many junior players from Wales put in great performances at this year’s northern giga-finals, which were held in Manchester on 12 and 13 July. In this event boys and girls don’t play against one another, except in the older age groups, and in some age groups the boys are split into several sections.


Wales produced eight winners or joint-winners of various sections: Alyssa Wang in the under 15s, Imogen Camp in the under 14s, Anna Boyle in the under 9s, Hiya Ray in the under 8s, Ifan Rathbone-Jones, Duncan MacDonald and David McIntosh in the under 11s, and Ethan Chung in the under 7s. Using tie-break rulings/playoffs, one player in each section is crowned Ultima or Ultimo and qualifies for the tera-final. Over the week-end Alyssa Wang and Imogen Camp were crowned Ultima; and Ifan Rathbone-Jones, Duncan MacDonald and Ethan Chung were crowned Ultimo.


Read more: Welsh Juniors excel at 2015 northern giga-final

Creditable performances for Welsh Schools in national finals

Last week three school teams from Wales participated in national finals, gaining valuable experience against some of the very strongest junior players in the UK.  


On June 30 and July 1 St John’s played in an EPSCA under 9s all-play-all final held at Birmingham that involved eight teams of five players. St John’s came 5th, scoring 17 out of a possible 35 point. The winners were Haberdashers’ Askes’ Boys School of Elstree, Hertfordshire.


On 2 July and 3 July The Grange, Monmouth and The Dell, Chepstow, participated in the ECF Under 11 Open finals held at Uppingham School, Rutland. This teams-of-six event involved twelve teams, five rounds, a Swiss system and game points. The Grange came equal sixth with 15.5 points, while The Dell came 10th with 13 points. The winners of this competition were Hall school, London, with 22 points.

Hundreds play in Merthyr Championships

The Second Merthyr Tydfil Chess Championship was held in The Dowlais Community Centre on Tuesday 23 June.  182 children from nine Primary Schools from The Borough of Merthyr Tydfil took part.  Everyone played 6 games, scoring individual points, plus points for their school. 


Adam Toomey from Ysgol y Graig was the individual winner, being the only player with a perfect score.  Gwaunfarren Primary School were the winning School, with Ysgol y Graig in second place, and St Mary's RC Primary School (last year's winners), Treoderhyw Primary School and Edwardsville Primary School coming joint third. 


Read more: Hundreds play in Merthyr Championships

Junior chess activities are generously supported by a

 grant from the

Welsh Assembly