Welsh Chess Union

Welsh Schools Chess Championships 2010

The official website for chess in Wales


New Site.
Playing Hall at Bishop Hedley School
5 secondary schools and 15 primary schools entered the Welsh Schools Chess Championships this year.
Held at Bishop Hedley School in Merthyr Tydfil it was a five round competition with 4 players in each team, with 30 minutes each on their clocks to complete the game.

The Secondary School Championship was a 5 team

The Primary School Championship had two stages.
The top four teams from the first 2 rounds play for the Primary School Championship.
The remaining 11 teams play for the Primary School Plate.


Welsh Secondary School Championship


1st   Kings Monkton School, Cardiff

2nd   Monmouth A, Gwent

3rd   Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan



Previous Winners


2000  Radyr Comprehensive

2001  Fitzalan High School

2002  Monmouth School

2003  Monmouth School

2004  Monmouth School

2005  Monmouth School

2006  Monmouth School

2007  Monmouth School

2008  Monmouth School

2009  Monmouth School



Welsh Primary School Championship


1st Grange A, Monmouth

2nd Craig-y-Nos School, Swansea

3rd Grange B, Monmouth

Jnt  Cathedral, Cardiff

Welsh Primary School Plate


1st Inglefield House, Monmouth

  ( For more about the girls in this event click here )

2nd Murch, Vale of Glamorgan

Jnt  Rougemont, Newport



Previous Winners


2008 The Grange

2009 Cathedral School, Llandaff







Previous Winners


2008 Monmouth School B

All  the championships were decided in the last round, so it was an excellent finish to a well organised tournament.  The proceedings were efficiently managed by Kevin Staveley and Ian Eustis, and the work of the refreshments team was much appreciated.